Business

Twenty people have been selected to participate in the third Leadership Council Bluffs class.

John W. Balk, chairman of the membership-selection committee, said this year's nominees were interesting and difficult: interesting because there were so many highly qualified Council Bluffs leaders who were recommended and involved; difficult because the committee had to struggle with the task of narrowing the field of candidates to 20.

Leadership Council Bluffs is a project of the Council Bluffs Chamber of Commerce designed to sharpen leadership skills. It involves participants in a yearlong program focusing on their own skills, helping them sense current and future needs of the community and exploring strategies to positively confront and deal with these challenges.

By offering opportunities to interact with former and current community, county and state leaders, the program gives participants a chance to exercise their skills and benefit from the experience seasoned leaders.

Balk said Leadership Council Bluffs participants will meet once each month from October through May in a variety of activities designed to focus on individual and group leadership development

The opening session Oct. 12–13 will be a retreat for participants to become acquainted and work in a leadership seminar.



Jeffrey A. Ballenger

Richard R.

Connell

ni Association.



Scott M. Behrens

Donald D.

Gross

During the program, they will

learn about the history and heri-

tage of Council Bluffs, investigate

the Council Bluffs-Omaha

Activities will include a trip to

Des Moines to meet local legis-

members of the Leadership Alum-

This year's steering committee

chairman is William Johnson,

superintendent at Iowa School for

relationship and current issues.



Robert M.



Patricia A.



Connie L.



Mary E. Kristensen

Deborah L.

Petersen





Scott J.



Joy C.



Ronald N. **Tekippe**



Donna J. Schoeppner



Bill C. Spitznagle



Paul A. Waltz

Edward D. Witthauer

information services;

Joy C. Stein, intern principal, Lewis and Clark Elementary School;

director, H. Gene McKeown & Associates Inc.;

ident/operations manager;

Olderog Hobbins Howsare the Deaf. Chairman of the curriculum committee is Don Porter,

Galen G.

vice president at Iowa Western Community College.

Timothy J.

This year's participants are: Jeffrey A. Ballenger of Ballenger Automotive Services;

Scott M. Behrens of Iowa Power

Graduation will be in May, and participants will then become-Richard R. Connell, director of facilities at Iowa School for the Deaf;

Donald D. Gross, Council Bluffs sor; development services coordinator:

director of marketing;

P. Michelle

Patricia A. Hannan, executive director, Nishnabotna Girl Scout Council;

Timothy J. Hobbins, Mercy Hospital director of pharmaceutical services;

Galen G. Howsare, Lewis Central High School executive director of administrative services:

Connie L. Kiefer, Peoples Natural Gas administrative supervi-

Mary E. Kristensen, co-owner, Robert M. Hanafan, Bluffs Run Kristensen Insurance Services Railroad assistant manager, todial services.

P. Michelle Olderog, First Federal Savings and Loan Association assistant vice president;

Deborah L. Petersen, attorney/ partner, Perkins, Sacks, Hannan, Reilly & Petersen law firm;

Paula L. Porter, Papio-Missouri River Natural Resources District; Scott J. Rogers, Peters Law Firm PC;

Donna J. Schoeppner, manger, Christy Creme Chicken;

Bill C. Spitznagle, Union Pacific

Ronald N. Tekippe, marketing

Paul A. Waltz, Council Bluffs Savings Banks assistant vice pres-

Edward D. Witthauer, Iowa Western Community College cus-

Social Security better than beans?

By DON KENDALL

Security and railroad retirement